The Song In My Head


Toys In The Attic (This one’s for Dougy!)
April 9, 2008, 5:50 pm
Filed under: 1, 80's, britain, Hot For Teacher, indie, punk, Toy Dolls

Every now and then, I sometimes forget what RocknRoll is really all about. When those days happen, I quickly run to my computer and turn on the TOY DOLLS. Suddenly, like a bolt of lightning, I remember what the missing ingredient is…. FUN!

The TOY DOLLS represent everything a true punk band should aspire to be. Many “pure” punk rockers discard this band as simply a novelty act.. but I guarantee that you will be hard pressed to find any successful punk band not list them as an influence.

I have a great story about my 7th grade science teacher (who was 23 and smoking hot) all impressed that I listened to the Toy Dolls. I thought I was the shiznit until she said she couldn’t wait to go home and tell her BOYFRIEND! (noooo!!) At the time, she was like 6 feet tall and I was like barely 4’11”, so I don’t think our love was destined to happen.

Here are my favorites from their first 3 albums:

Dig that Groove Baby

Bless You My Son

Dougy Giro


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Interesting article here, well written and much to think about. I wound up in a discussion with my wife over this subject earlier.

Comment by Shaun Roden

Thanks man!

Glad you enjoy it.. I am moving my blog soon.. so keep your eyes peeled!

Comment by songinmyhead




Leave a comment