The Song In My Head


Oh Rufus.. you magnificent man!
February 26, 2008, 3:42 am
Filed under: 98, America, pop, Rufus, singer, trl

wainwright-rufus_joemama-nitzberg-thumb.jpg

First off, I wanted to apologize for being inattentive to all my readers here at  The Song In My Head.  I have been away since New Years and I have had technical difficulties with the site and the music not playing.  This has all been fixed. I will have all the old songs working soon and I will have all new posts as well! YAY! 

 Anyhoo,

In the fall of 1998 the greatest horror ever known to man fell to earth in the form of a TV show called “total request live”.  Eventually this mindless pop fest for 12 year olds became the king of the castle over at MTV.  I understood the shows appeal but I was completely thrown off guard when a young, fresh, piano master named Rufus Wainwright somehow sneaked his way onto TRL’s poop plate list of artists.  I really wasn’t sad at all when he ended up losing to Britney or Christina or whoever it was, because I knew that he was amazing and that “April Fools” was one of the best pop singles of the year.   “Oh well” I cried, “at least I know better than 12 year olds”.  My musical love affair with Rufus has only grown over the years although I tend to always fall back on his singles and more straightforward “pop” tunes.  

 Here are some of my personal favorites of Wainwright’s collection:  

April Fools California Going To A Town  One Man Guy

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My all-time favorite RW songs is “My Phone’s On Vibrate For You” and “Go Or Go Ahead” & “Beauty Mark”. He’s truly a great American song writer.
He makes me cry too!
See you soon Johnny.

Comment by Tara

I, too, am obsessed! See you at your NYLO Show next week!

Comment by Kim

Johnny, how funny, I love him too. Fell in love with him when I first heard him on the Shrek soundtrack! Beautiful!

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

