The Song In My Head


Sopranos And Altos
December 1, 2007, 5:06 am
Filed under: 60's, America, britain, Disney, female, Music, pop, singer

julie1.jpg
karen_carpenter.jpg

 If I had to chop off my manhood and become any female singer for a day, I think it would have to be either Julie Andrews or Karen Carpenter.  They easily have the cleanest and the purest vocals of anyone in the music biz.  I have never heard any woman out-sing these two.  They are the kind of singers that can lay it down in one take.. and if they have to  do another take, they make the speakers go out of phase cus their vocals are pretty much perfect every time.  There ain’t no computers fixing bad notes here, baby!  What I also love about each of them is not only are they GREAT singers, but they are so unique that you can instantly recognize them as soon as they hit their first notes. 

I decided to put on here my all-time favorite Julie Andrews song “Feed The Birds” from Marry Poppins.  What I love about this tune is not only her voice, but the actual song construction itself.  It starts out minor, but somehow has  a light quality to it with Julie singing.  When it finally reaches the chorus the whole song drops down a key and goes major!  Normally a song going from minor to major would go UP a key giving it lift and becoming “happy”.  This does the opposite but still retains the same effect. The other song I put on is the Carpenters “For All We Know”.  Karen has a very “alto” voice and her range dips into almost male tenor from time to time.  She can still sing quite high, but she never really needs to.  Karen was known to be overly perfectionist about how she sounded, and that suits me just fine.

Feed The Birds For All We Know

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

this entry could spark a lot of feedback from folk who want to give their candidate for clearest and purest vocals.
I can suggest a couple for the list
Eva Cassidy (I know the media have played ‘Over The Rainbow’ to death – but it still amazes me) and TOP SPOT in my list goes to the late Sandy Denny (Fairport Convention / Fotheringay) – listen to her own song ‘Who Knows Where the Time Goes’ for purity.
cheers
Alan

Comment by Alan




Leave a Reply

